Author Topic: You guys ever do any RFP writing?  (Read 1142 times)

abrader

• Bomb-A-Daeus
You guys ever do any RFP writing?
« on: June 25, 2008, 11:35:27 PM »
Sometimes as a consultant I will take on a client who wants me to help them either a.) write an RFP to seek software/service solutions or b.) help a companies sales division respond to an RFP with a detailed proposal.

The work pays well and it is many billable hours in a short shot, and you can get good bonuses in your contract... - BUT

IT ENDS UP BEING THE WORST WEEK OF MY LIFE.

I am doing one now - and this week started on Monday and its still Monday.

I havent left my house except to run out to the store and do some other errands at lunch today.

Its like you gotta spend like 45 minutes to an hour just reading the stuff to get into the zone - and if its during the middle of the day I can expect to be interrupted a few times by some annoying cokker. And then guess what? IT takes another hour to get submersed again where you can get any real traction and make progress.

So you end up doing yer best work at night....but yer body wants sleep - but you gotta make progress - you got 600 or so more pages to go and #$HTQV$HTVCY%V%CYEI%HDKH%IKB^HIEA%HCTAHE.

Anyway creepy week - I feel like a mall zombie. My body hurts.....ill nap every few hours but use an alarm so as to not waste more than an hour:30 of valuable nighttime.

I have 6 more days - but Im supposed to go away for my birthday party this weekend so I gotta truck thru on this shyt and send it off to the marketing physicians.

Do you work like this? When i previously recorded music it was the same kind of shifts.

At least im shaving ;)

T234

• Canadian Legal Expert and Hillballer
Re: You guys ever do any RFP writing?
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2008, 06:22:51 AM »
I dunno what an RFP is, but I'm with you on the manic work part.