Author Topic: Classic Simpsons Thread  (Read 4303 times)

Himu

Classic Simpsons Thread
« on: November 16, 2018, 11:37:36 AM »
Earlier this year I bought seasons 1-9 from amazon for like 140 bucks.

I hadn't seen these seasons in full in a long time. Probably since I was a kid and they were syndicated. Back when the dvd sets were expensive I didn’t get past season 3  but watched the random classic episode.

I always loved these seasons of course but this is my first time watching as an adult and my appreciation has only gotten fonder. The sheer quality increase that happens going from season 3 to 4 is insane. I had forgotten just how damn great seasons 4 and 5 are and forgot entire episodes and gags I found hilarious like that song Homer sings when he gives up beer for a month.

When I was seventeen,
I drank some very good beer,
I drank some very good beer
I purchased with a fake ID.
My name was Brian McGee,
I stayed up listenin' to Queen
When I was seventeen.

Which, by itself isn’t funny or charming. But the visuals and Dan Castelanetta’s expert voice work just oozes charm and humor. And it’s only 30 seconds.

I find myself liking Homer and Marge more than the kids as I’ve aged because I relate to them more I guess. I’m halfway through season 4 and it just keeps getting better.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2018, 11:42:24 AM by Cindi Mayweather »
IYKYK

jakefromstatefarm

Re: Classic Simpsons Thread
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2018, 11:42:59 AM »

Himu

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2018, 11:46:10 AM »
:lol
IYKYK

« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2018, 11:53:54 AM »
I like when Homer was a well-meaning idiot who cared about his family, and not just a stupid jerk.
野球

Himu

« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2018, 12:02:44 PM »
In that ep Homer decides to go on a bike ride with Marge rather than drink at Moe’s. I know they have him back to his old ways after the fact because they to have a status quo but I feel so proud of Homer in that episode.