Author Topic: Am I the asshole in this situation  (Read 2989 times)

EightBitNate

• I don’t wanna be horny anymore, I wanna be happy
Am I the asshole in this situation
« on: November 02, 2020, 04:25:46 PM »
So I had a pretty liberal, laid-back English teacher in high school who a bunch of students followed on social media after graduation. I graduated several years ago now but she posted a picture of her toddlers in Halloween costumes the other day and I liked the pic.

I have this other app that tells me when someone’s blocked me on Instagram, and a few hours after liking the pic, I get this notification that this teacher blocked me. I laugh about it and bring it up to some old high school friends who follow her, and they confirm that the page is still up (so I’m 100% sure shes blocked me at this point). I thought maybe it was because I’m a dude, but I had 2 male white friends confirm to me that she didn’t block them after liking the pic.

She and I had semi-regular correspondence over the years via email (we talked about Serial and progress made on the Adnan Syed case as more info came out), so I hit her up at 1am via email and write like 2 paragraphs about how im devastated that she would do that to me (the whole email is clearly in jest, but I also wanted to call her out for what I perceived as a slight against me). I ask if she was creeped out that a brown man liked a picture of her children on social media, because I kinda figured that’s what it was? Like I don’t know why she’d feel the need to do that unless deep-down she thought I was some sort of creep even though I had seen 10 or so other likes from students I graduated with.