Author Topic: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!  (Read 94754 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Cindi Mayweather

  • Like the smallest pebble that sinks to the depths of the water, I make waves
  • Senior Member
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3000 on: January 09, 2019, 02:07:03 PM »


i've seen a lot of "how to fix street fighter 5" videos in my time and this is the first good one.

A lot of his complaints are why I don't play it. I'm surprised he loves it. All those reasons are why SFV isn't the best and why I doubt it'll be fixed. It's an overly offensive game without the defensive mechanics to match. I'm not asking for it to be like SFIV with all of its defense tools and tech, but games that are often in your face like 3S or GG have defensive mechanics that nullify offense. SFV is basically Guilty Gear without burst or FD or SFIII without parries. This is precisely why SFV is not a "great" fighting game as he says at the beginning of the video. He brings up GG, but ignores that GG has air dash, jump cancels, burst, faultless defense, and far more movement options that negate offense. Woshige basically made a Guilty Gear without the defense and movement tools of GG.

This is why SFV is a bad game: its design philosophy is undercooked.

If you want to improve SFV at this point give it Alpha/3S era and go wild. This means, give every character a super jump (SFIII), allow air blocking (alpha, Vsav), create a universal defense mechanic akin to parries (SFIII), guard cancels (Vsav), and the other shit from Alpha 2 and 3.

Here we have is a game he readily admits is something that can ignore SF fundamentals and yet he finds it to be a great fighting game. Different tastes, different strokes but I prefer to play a fundamentals oriented title.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2019, 02:18:59 PM by Cindi Mayweather »
幻想水滸伝

Cindi Mayweather

  • Like the smallest pebble that sinks to the depths of the water, I make waves
  • Senior Member
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3001 on: January 09, 2019, 02:28:10 PM »
That said, moves do need more pushback like he said.
幻想水滸伝

headwalk

  • brutal deluxe
  • Senior Member
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3002 on: January 09, 2019, 03:40:00 PM »
i think his point stands though that it's not that it has a shit neutral game, shit zoning or a crappy roster. all the ingredients are there for a decent game but the only taste that comes through is that of standing one millimetre away and blockstringing someone to death because it's infinitely the strongest option.

doubt they'll fix it with patches so i'd love for them to wipe the slate clean and move on to a proper cross platform 6 with an arcade release on launch. i know the xbone was bunk but there was definitely something undermining about making a platform exclusive street fighter.

Cindi Mayweather

  • Like the smallest pebble that sinks to the depths of the water, I make waves
  • Senior Member
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3003 on: January 09, 2019, 03:51:09 PM »
He made this reply in comments:

Quote
So far I'm getting this comment a lot, and I agree entirely that Guilty Gear has more balanced defensive options to match its strong offense. In the video I was trying to imply that Woshige does not see the value in having that balance.

I get him now.
幻想水滸伝

bork

  • おっぱいは命、尻は故郷
  • Global Moderator
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3004 on: January 09, 2019, 08:50:49 PM »
SFV is basically....SFIII without parries.

:rejoice
ど助平

bork

  • おっぱいは命、尻は故郷
  • Global Moderator
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3005 on: January 11, 2019, 07:30:49 AM »
Dead Or Alive 6 is getting a beta test on PS4- starts today and ends on Monday!  PS+ sub required.
ど助平

bork

  • おっぱいは命、尻は故郷
  • Global Moderator
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3006 on: January 14, 2019, 10:23:19 PM »
Looks like Bandai Namco is going to be announcing a season two pass and new DLC character line-up for Dragonball FighterZ soon.  There's an event on the 26th, IIRC.
ど助平

nachobro

  • Live Más
  • Senior Member
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3007 on: January 14, 2019, 10:31:52 PM »
yeah their dumb stream they had said to expect more on a new pass after the finals of the world tour. also Hiroki said there will be a new balance patch and the team is going to be looking at improving comeback potential. another full year of support for the game and tournaments was confirmed too.

remy

  • Junior Member
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3008 on: January 15, 2019, 12:03:24 AM »
Can't wait for another 12 gokus and vegetas

Cindi Mayweather

  • Like the smallest pebble that sinks to the depths of the water, I make waves
  • Senior Member
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3009 on: January 15, 2019, 12:13:39 AM »
GIVE ME BULMA AND LAUNCH
幻想水滸伝

nachobro

  • Live Más
  • Senior Member
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3010 on: January 15, 2019, 12:14:11 AM »
they said there is a tease for the new character in v jump magazine and that mag comes with a card insert for another goku/vegeta fusion :lol

Cindi Mayweather

  • Like the smallest pebble that sinks to the depths of the water, I make waves
  • Senior Member
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3011 on: January 15, 2019, 12:18:56 AM »
I demand Launch. Give her the GG treatment. Make her two characters in one. Regular Launch of passive and defensive. There's a sneeze meter and once built, she can turn into blonde launch, which is offensive. The key to the character is to maximize sneeze meter before you're a threat. Fuck yes.
幻想水滸伝

thisismyusername

  • https://goo.gl/SEuEBL Stay pressed, DNC.
  • Senior Member
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3012 on: January 15, 2019, 12:31:12 AM »
Can't wait for another 12 gokus and vegetas

Eh, could be worse: Could be 12 Gokus and Vegetas with beam attacks.

Only Beerus is the only character I feel that is somewhat different from the others as his projectiles are MEANT to be manipulated/baited/traps. Meanwhile, everyone else nearly has a Kamehameha/beam attack for projectiles which makes actually playing Beerus a fools errand as trying to get the projectiles out to do shenanigans will get stuffed easy.

bork

  • おっぱいは命、尻は故郷
  • Global Moderator
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3013 on: January 15, 2019, 07:27:32 PM »
I bet Vegetto or Gogeta is one of them.  And Ultra-Instinct Goku.  :lol

They really need to diversify the roster.   This game needs Mr. Satan, Bulma, Chi-Chi, Turtle Hermit, and hell yeah Lunch is a good idea with the split personality thing.  Throw in Oolong as a 'Dural' type character who morphs into other characters when doing various attacks.  That's a rip-off of that nun character from Skullgirls but hey who cares.  Throw in Arale and Jaco too.  If there's any other version of Goku I'd want to see, it would be the kid version with his staff and Kinto'un.  :)
ど助平

nachobro

  • Live Más
  • Senior Member

nachobro

  • Live Más
  • Senior Member
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3015 on: January 17, 2019, 01:21:07 PM »
MK11 thing starting soon, reveals won't be til 11 PT though

https://www.twitch.tv/netherrealm

or


nachobro

  • Live Más
  • Senior Member
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3016 on: January 18, 2019, 09:59:29 AM »
Jiren confirmed


bork

  • おっぱいは命、尻は故郷
  • Global Moderator
Re: Fighting Games Thread: The Soul Still Burns!
« Reply #3017 on: January 18, 2019, 03:12:41 PM »
There's a Jump Force open beta going on this weekend, BTW.  Only during set times...the one today was far too early to try, lol.

Friday 18th January 2019

    North America: 4am PST / 5am MST / 6am CST / 7am EST
    UK/Ire: 12pm GMT
    Europe: 1pm CET / 2pm EET
    Asia/Oceania: 9pm JST / 8pm AWST / 11pm AEDT

Saturday 19th January 2019

    North America: 9pm PST / 10pm MST / 11pm CST / 12am EST
    UK/Ire: 5am GMT
    Europe: 6am CET / 7am EET
    Asia/Oceania: 2pm JST / 1pm AWST / 4pm AEDT

Saturday 19th January 2019

    North America: 8am PST / 9am MST / 10am CST / 11am EST
    UK/Ire: 4pm GMT
    Europe: 5pm CET / 6pm EET
    Asia/Oceania: 1am JST / 12am AWST / 3am AEDT

Sunday 20th January 2019

    North America: 12pm PST / 1pm MST / 2pm CST / 3pm EST
    UK/Ire: 8pm GMT
    Europe: 9pm CET / 10pm EET
    Asia/Oceania: 5am JST / 4am AWST / 7am AEDT
ど助平